Games on the interwebs
Games worth looking at for 5 minutes.

Team Fortress 2 (Gamemode)

Firstly, don’t get confused by the thread title. If you aren’t already aware, when I use the term ‘Gamemode’ I’m talking about something for GMod. So, this is a Team Fortress 2 gamemode for GMod.

So, one thing to keep in mind first, is that this isn’t meant to replace TF2. Also, this is certainly not supposed to work if you don’t already have TF2 in the first place. What this gamemode is trying to do, mostly, is give you the ability to play HL2 in TF2, which is impossible in either TF2 or HL2. In other words, this is Half-Life Fortress 2.

Sadly, like GMod Tower, this is incomplete. However, unlike GMod Tower, you can play an alpha that has a ton of problems right now!

Most of the problems have to do with effects or sounds, and there aren’t many things that really effect gameplay. However, right now, only Scout, Soldier, Demoman, and Engineer work. Engineer can only build sentries with terrible aim using a console command, and those sentries don’t have building animations either. I’d say it’s a good start, and there is currently a nice big update in the works, which will fix problems with projectiles not looking like they’re actually coming out of the guns, add medic, and a number of other things which will be revealed once it’s out. It will probably add the voice menu, and maybe taunts, as well.

Here’s a video demonstrating the demoman:


and here’s an old video of playing HL2 as a demoman:

Lastly, note that in addition to being a WIP, you need to know how to use SVN in order to download the gamemode itself.

Here’s the Facepunch thread: >>TF2 Gamemode<<

2 Responses to “Team Fortress 2 (Gamemode)”

  1. My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different web page and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to
    looking into your web page for a second time.

  2. Today, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iphone and tested to see if it
    can survive a twenty five foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.
    I know this is completely off topic but I had to share
    it with someone!


Leave a Reply

